Introducing: a 15 year old’s game design documents

L-R: Megabit, Raptor, Si'Ang, Lt. Shadow
L-R: Megabit, Raptor, Si’Ang, Lt. Shadow

Who are these guys?

In the mid-1990s they were my friends. Not my real-life friends at school (of which were a similar paltry amount, sadly) but characters for the game I wanted to make; whereas a young aspiring developer may aim high with a Massively-Multiplayer Online or epic First Person Shooter game, my bar was set at some bizarre kind of Sonic the Hedgehog meets Street Fighter hybrid with limbless characters before Rayman came and made the idea fashionable.

Honestly, my influences were clear as day.
Honestly, my influences were clear as day.

I have found possibly the only drawings I possess from my youth, a stack of paper as thick as a medium-sized graphic novel; of game design documents for what my 14/15 year old self would consider their magnum opus, an unnamed game based around my favourite gaming experiences of the time. There’s some embarrassing stuff in there (such as a lengthy storyline I haven’t read yet, but I remember it centering around cloning technology or something), but also some things that have surprised me with how well I had considered games design as a teenager.

Those absolutely essential gamedev tools that are blue ballpoint pen and ruled A4 paper, in full effect.
Those absolutely essential gamedev tools that are blue ballpoint pen and ruled A4 paper, in full effect.

I plan to scan every single last sheet of paper; for better or for worse; to chronicle this game-that-never-was, and look back on my ambitions as a “game designer” from around twenty years ago. There’s some good and some bad here, but nonetheless is very interesting to me; and may be to others. I shall leave you for now in the company of this little fellow:

Dear past self, thank you for drawing this amazing critter. <3
Dear past self, thank you for drawing this amazing critter. ❤
Leave a Reply

